Bus Driver, City/Transit

License required by 51 states

61st most burdensome licensing requirements.

8th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Bus drivers, also known as motor coach operators, drive a bus or motor coach on regular route operations, charters and private carriages. They may assist passengers with baggage and collect fares or tickets.

All 50 states and D.C. require a license to work as a city or transit bus driver. On average, these laws require $106 in fees, 100 days of education and experience, and five exams. Altogether, these requirements are the 61st most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied. However, because bus drivers are licensed by all states and D.C., the occupation ranks as the eighth most widely and onerously licensed.

Each state requires five exams, fees ranging from $18 (New Mexico) to $335 (Washington), and a minimum age of between 16 and 21. Ten states require prior driving experience of one (Alaska, Arizona, Delaware, Idaho, Indiana, Oregon and Utah), two (Rhode Island and West Virginia) or three years (New Jersey). Instead of driving experience, Washington requires completion of an eight-day (36-hour) training course. The other 40 states have no experience or training requirements.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 New Jersey 51 $169 1095 3 years 5 0 21
2 Rhode Island 51 $170 730 2 years 5 0 18
3 West Virginia 51 $151 730 2 years 5 0 18
4 Indiana 51 $153 365 1 years 5 0 21
5 Utah 51 $107 365 1 years 5 0 21
6 Oregon 51 $229 365 1 years 5 0 18
7 Alaska 51 $140 365 1 years 5 0 19
8 Idaho 51 $135 365 1 years 5 0 18
9 Arizona 51 $35 365 1 years 5 0 18
9 Delaware 51 $35 365 1 years 5 0 18
11 Nevada 51 $216 0 5 0 21
12 Washington 51 $335 8 36 clock hours 5 0 18
13 D C 51 $206 0 5 0 21
14 Hawaii 51 $160 0 5 0 21
15 Connecticut 51 $136 0 5 0 21
16 Colorado 51 $257 0 5 0 18
17 Maine 51 $79 0 5 0 21
18 Tennessee 51 $57 0 5 0 21
19 Vermont 51 $185 0 5 0 18
20 North Carolina 51 $175 0 5 0 18
21 Ohio 51 $162 0 5 0 18
22 Massachusetts 51 $150 0 5 0 18
23 Kentucky 51 $130 0 5 0 18
24 Wisconsin 51 $124 0 5 0 18
25 Louisiana 51 $121 0 5 0 18
26 Georgia 51 $120 0 5 0 18
27 Arkansas 51 $92 0 5 0 18
28 Maryland 51 $90 0 5 0 18
28 Mississippi 51 $90 0 5 0 18
28 New Hampshire 51 $90 0 5 0 18
31 Wyoming 51 $85 0 5 0 18
32 Texas 51 $84 0 5 0 18
33 Florida 51 $82 0 5 0 18
34 Alabama 51 $81 0 5 0 18
35 Missouri 51 $80 0 5 0 18
36 Michigan 51 $65 0 5 0 18
37 Oklahoma 51 $57 0 5 0 18
38 Illinois 51 $50 0 5 0 18
38 New York 51 $50 0 5 0 18
40 Kansas 51 $49 0 5 0 18
41 California 51 $42 0 5 0 18
42 Pennsylvania 51 $35 0 5 0 18
43 South Carolina 51 $34 0 5 0 18
44 North Dakota 51 $33 0 5 0 18
45 Minnesota 51 $33 0 5 0 18
46 Virginia 51 $30 0 5 0 18
47 Iowa 51 $26 0 5 0 18
47 Montana 51 $26 0 5 0 18
47 Nebraska 51 $26 0 5 0 18
50 New Mexico 51 $18 0 5 0 18
51 South Dakota 51 $125 0 5 0 16

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!