Carpenter/Cabinet Maker Contractor (Residential)

License required by 30 states

40th most burdensome licensing requirements.

39th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Carpenter and cabinet maker contractors contract with clients to construct, erect, install or repair structures and fixtures made of wood, such as concrete forms; building frameworks, including partitions, joists, studding and rafters; and wood stairways, window and door frames, and hardwood floors. They may also install cabinets, siding, drywall, and batt or roll insulation. They include brattice builders, who build doors or brattices (ventilation walls or partitions) in underground passageways to control the proper circulation of air through the passageways and to the working places.

Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the carpenters who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.

Thirty states license carpenter and cabinet maker contractors working on residential properties. On average, states require over a year (368 days) of education and experience, $319 in fees, and about one exam. All in all, 17 states require at least one exam (California requires three). These requirements rank as the 40th most burdensome.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Nevada 30 $1,078 1460 4 years 2 0 18
2 Arizona 30 $956 1460 4 years 2 0 18
3 California 30 $579 1460 4 years 3 0 18
4 Hawaii 30 $615 1460 4 years 2 0 18
5 Florida 30 $364 1460 4 years 1 0 18
6 Massachusetts 30 $500 1095 3 years 1 0 18
7 Maryland 30 $433 730 2 years 1 0 18
8 Utah 30 $549 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
9 Virginia 30 $320 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
10 South Carolina 30 $50 365 1 years 0 0 0
11 Michigan 30 $286 14 60 clock hours 2 0 18
12 Mississippi 30 $290 67 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
13 Oregon 30 $410 3 16 clock hours 1 0 18
14 Louisiana 30 $460 0 1 0 0
15 Rhode Island 30 $200 1 5 clock hours 0 0 18
16 Alabama 30 $403 0 1 0 0
17 North Dakota 30 $125 0 0 0 18
18 Tennessee 30 $305 0 1 0 0
19 North Carolina 30 $145 0 1 0 0
20 D C 30 $442 0 0 0 0
21 West Virginia 30 $132 0 1 0 0
22 Alaska 30 $300 0 0 0 0
23 Connecticut 30 $220 0 0 0 0
24 Washington 30 $113 0 0 0 0
25 New Jersey 30 $110 0 0 0 0
26 Arkansas 30 $50 0 0 0 0
26 Iowa 30 $50 0 0 0 0
26 Pennsylvania 30 $50 0 0 0 0
29 Idaho 30 $30 0 0 0 0
30 Nebraska 30 $0 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!