Dietetic Technician

License required by 2 states

15th most burdensome licensing requirements.

93rd most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Dietetic technicians assist dietitians in the provision of food service and nutritional programs. Under the supervision of dietitians, they may also plan and produce meals based on established guidelines, teach principles of food and nutrition, or counsel individuals.

Two states require a license to work as a dietetic technician: Maine and New Mexico. License requirements are almost identical in Maine and New Mexico: Both states require two years of education (an associate’s degree) and 450 hours of clinical experience (for a total of about 835 days lost), as well as one exam. Their fees are also comparable ($171 in Maine and $180 in New Mexico). Dietetic technicians face the 15th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, since only two states license them, the occupation ranks as the 93rd most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 New Mexico 2 $180 835 2 years 450 clock hours 1 0 0
2 Maine 2 $171 835 2 years 450 clock hours 1 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!