Door Repair Contractor (Residential)

License required by 29 states

47th most burdensome licensing requirements.

45th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Door repair contractors, also known as door installer contractors or garage door mechanics, contract with clients to install, service or repair the opening and closing mechanisms of automatic and hydraulic doors.

Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the door mechanics who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.

Twenty-nine states license door repair contractors working on residential properties. On average, states require 343 days of education and experience, $320 in fees, and about one exam. All in all, 16 states require at least one exam—10 states require one exam and six (Arizona, California, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada and Utah) require two. These requirements rank as the 47th most burdensome.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Nevada 29 $1,078 1460 4 years 2 0 18
2 Arizona 29 $956 1460 4 years 2 0 18
3 California 29 $579 1460 4 years 2 0 18
4 Hawaii 29 $540 1460 4 years 1 0 18
5 Massachusetts 29 $500 1095 3 years 1 0 18
6 Maryland 29 $433 730 2 years 1 0 18
7 Utah 29 $549 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
8 Virginia 29 $320 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
9 New Mexico 29 $249 730 2 years 1 0 18
10 Michigan 29 $286 14 60 clock hours 2 0 18
11 Mississippi 29 $290 67 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
12 Oregon 29 $410 3 16 clock hours 1 0 18
13 Louisiana 29 $460 0 1 0 0
14 Rhode Island 29 $200 1 5 clock hours 0 0 18
15 North Dakota 29 $125 0 0 0 18
16 Tennessee 29 $305 0 1 0 0
17 North Carolina 29 $145 0 1 0 0
18 West Virginia 29 $132 0 1 0 0
19 D C 29 $442 0 0 0 0
20 Alabama 29 $350 0 0 0 0
21 Alaska 29 $300 0 0 0 0
22 Connecticut 29 $220 0 0 0 0
23 Washington 29 $113 0 0 0 0
24 New Jersey 29 $110 0 0 0 0
25 Arkansas 29 $50 0 0 0 0
25 Iowa 29 $50 0 0 0 0
25 Pennsylvania 29 $50 0 0 0 0
28 Idaho 29 $30 0 0 0 0
29 Nebraska 29 $0 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!