Gaming Dealer

License required by 28 states

87th most burdensome licensing requirements.

64th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Gaming dealers, or card dealers, operate table games. They stand or sit behind a table and operate games of chance by dispensing the appropriate number of cards or blocks to players or operating other gaming equipment. They distribute winnings or collect players’ money or chips and may compare the house’s hand against players’ hands.

Twenty-eight states require a license to work as a gaming dealer. Every state except Connecticut requires a fee, which averages $174, and almost two-thirds of states (17) set a minimum age of either 18 or 21. No state requires any education or experience or exams. These requirements make the gaming dealer occupation the 87th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because gaming dealers are licensed by over half of states, the occupation ranks as the 64th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Pennsylvania 28 $350 0 0 0 18
2 Massachusetts 28 $300 0 0 0 18
3 California 28 $250 0 0 0 21
3 Illinois 28 $250 0 0 0 21
3 Indiana 28 $250 0 0 0 21
3 Ohio 28 $250 0 0 0 21
7 Arizona 28 $250 0 0 0 18
8 Maryland 28 $437 0 0 0 0
9 Louisiana 28 $200 0 0 0 21
9 Michigan 28 $200 0 0 0 21
11 Colorado 28 $115 0 0 0 21
12 South Dakota 28 $111 0 0 0 21
13 West Virginia 28 $100 0 0 0 21
14 Missouri 28 $125 0 0 0 18
15 Maine 28 $299 0 0 0 0
16 Mississippi 28 $75 0 0 0 21
16 Nevada 28 $75 0 0 0 21
16 New Mexico 28 $75 0 0 0 21
19 Delaware 28 $269 0 0 0 0
20 Iowa 28 $68 0 0 0 18
21 Washington 28 $219 0 0 0 0
22 Florida 28 $159 0 0 0 0
23 New York 28 $105 0 0 0 0
24 Montana 28 $102 0 0 0 0
25 New Jersey 28 $95 0 0 0 0
26 New Hampshire 28 $80 0 0 0 0
27 Kansas 28 $60 0 0 0 0
28 Connecticut 28 $0 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!