Gaming Supervisor

License required by 30 states

83rd most burdensome licensing requirements.

56th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Gaming supervisors, or pit bosses, supervise gaming operations and personnel in an assigned area. They circulate among tables and observe operations and ensure that stations and games are covered for each shift. They may also explain and interpret operating rules of the house to patrons, plan and organize activities for guests in hotels or casinos, and address service complaints.

Thirty states require a license to work as a gaming supervisor. On average, these laws require a fee of $462. In addition, almost two-thirds of states (19) set a minimum age of either 18 or 21. These requirements make the gaming supervisor occupation the 83rd most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because gaming supervisors are licensed by over half of states, the occupation ranks as the 56th most widely and onerously licensed.

License fees vary greatly across states, from $0 in Connecticut to $3,150 in California. Ten states have fees totaling $500 or more (five states have fees totaling $1,000 or more). Fees are so high because some states—including California, Colorado and Massachusetts—require large initial deposits ($2,400, $1,000 and $1,000, respectively) for background checks. After completing the background check, the state returns anything remaining of the deposit.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 California 30 $3,150 0 0 0 21
2 Colorado 30 $1,275 0 0 0 21
3 Illinois 30 $1,050 0 0 0 21
4 Missouri 30 $1,100 0 0 0 18
5 Massachusetts 30 $1,000 0 0 0 18
6 Michigan 30 $750 0 0 0 21
7 Ohio 30 $500 0 0 0 21
8 Louisiana 30 $200 0 0 0 21
9 Pennsylvania 30 $350 0 0 0 18
10 South Dakota 30 $111 0 0 0 21
11 Indiana 30 $100 0 0 0 21
11 West Virginia 30 $100 0 0 0 21
13 Florida 30 $89 0 0 0 21
14 Arkansas 30 $75 0 0 0 21
14 Mississippi 30 $75 0 0 0 21
14 Nevada 30 $75 0 0 0 21
14 New Mexico 30 $75 0 0 0 21
18 Arizona 30 $250 0 0 0 18
19 Iowa 30 $68 0 0 0 18
20 New Jersey 30 $750 0 0 0 0
21 Delaware 30 $569 0 0 0 0
22 New Hampshire 30 $550 0 0 0 0
23 Maryland 30 $437 0 0 0 0
24 Rhode Island 30 $300 0 0 0 0
25 Maine 30 $299 0 0 0 0
26 Washington 30 $219 0 0 0 0
27 Oklahoma 30 $166 0 0 0 0
28 New York 30 $105 0 0 0 0
29 Kansas 30 $60 0 0 0 0
30 Connecticut 30 $0 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!