Log Scaler

License required by 2 states

44th most burdensome licensing requirements.

94th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Log scalers grade logs or estimate the marketable content or value of logs or pulpwood in sorting yards, millponds, log decks or similar locations. They also inspect logs for defects or measure logs to determine volume.

Two states require a license to work as a log scaler: Idaho and Maine. Maine requires two years (730 days) of experience, a $25 fee, an exam and a minimum age of 18. Idaho, on the other hand, requires only a $25 fee and two exams. The average requirements for log scaler rank as the 44th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because only two states license the occupation, it is only the 94th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Maine 2 $25 730 2 years 1 0 18
2 Idaho 2 $25 0 2 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!