Psychiatric Technician

License required by 5 states

36th most burdensome licensing requirements.

89th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Psychiatric technicians care for mentally impaired or emotionally disturbed individuals, following physician instructions and hospital procedures. They monitor patients’ physical and emotional well-being and report to medical staff. They may participate in rehabilitation and treatment programs, help with personal hygiene, and administer oral medications and hypodermic injections.

Five states license psychiatric technicians: Arkansas, California, Colorado, Kansas and Missouri. All five require a high school diploma, and four of the five require an exam (only Missouri does not). There is significant variation in education and experience requirements, however: While Missouri requires 730 days (two years) of experience, Arkansas and Kansas require only about 210 days (900 hours) of education. Fees range from $0 in Missouri to $349 in California ($119 on average). These requirements are the 36th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because so few states license psychiatric technicians, the occupation ranks as only the 89th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Missouri 5 $0 730 2 years 0 12 18
2 California 5 $349 357 1530 clock hours 1 12 18
3 Colorado 5 $65 224 32 credit hours 1 12 0
4 Kansas 5 $146 210 900 clock hours 1 12 0
5 Arkansas 5 $38 210 900 clock hours 1 12 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!