School Bus Driver

License required by 51 states

37th most burdensome licensing requirements.

6th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

School bus drivers transport students to and from school and on school activities. They ensure adherence to safety rules and may assist passengers in boarding or exiting.

All 50 states and D.C. license school bus drivers. On average, these laws require $112 in fees, 300 days of education and experience, and around six exams—the 37th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied. However, because school bus drivers are licensed everywhere, the occupation ranks as the sixth most widely and onerously licensed.

While every state requires between six and eight exams and sets a minimum age of 18, 19 or 21 years, other requirements vary. For example, Florida requires five years of driving experience and 40 hours of pre-service coursework (about 1,834 days), but 10 states require no education or experience. Fees range from $18 in New Mexico to $260 in Nevada.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Florida 51 $62 1834 40 clock hours 5 years 6 0 18
2 Montana 51 $26 1825 5 years 6 0 18
3 West Virginia 51 $161 1106 40 clock hours 3 years and 12 clock hours 7 12 21
4 Rhode Island 51 $180 1097 10 clock hours 3 years 7 0 21
5 Alaska 51 $190 1097 10 clock hours 3 years 6 0 21
6 New Jersey 51 $171 1095 3 years 6 0 21
7 Massachusetts 51 $200 1107 28 clock hours 3 years and 32 clock hours 6 0 18
8 Ohio 51 $205 735 15 clock hours 2 years and 12 clock hours 6 0 21
9 Georgia 51 $115 734 24 clock hours 2 years 6 0 18
10 New Hampshire 51 $100 732 10 clock hours 2 years 6 0 18
11 Washington 51 $170 373 36 clock hours 1 years 6 0 21
12 Indiana 51 $153 370 20 clock hours 1 years and 12 clock hours 6 0 21
13 Hawaii 51 $165 365 1 years 6 0 21
14 Oregon 51 $239 368 1 years and 15 clock hours 6 0 18
15 Utah 51 $114 365 1 years 6 0 21
16 Maine 51 $89 365 1 years 6 0 21
17 Arizona 51 $57 371 14 clock hours 1 years and 20 clock hours 7 0 18
18 Kansas 51 $62 367 1 years and 12 clock hours 6 0 21
19 Idaho 51 $148 367 10 clock hours 1 years 6 0 18
20 Delaware 51 $40 368 12 clock hours 1 years and 6 clock hours 6 0 18
21 North Carolina 51 $190 185 3 days 6 months 6 0 18
22 Alabama 51 $81 3 16 clock hours 8 0 21
23 Nevada 51 $260 3 10 clock hours 10 clock hours 6 0 21
24 D C 51 $236 0 6 0 21
25 South Carolina 51 $23 5 20 clock hours 10 clock hours 8 0 18
26 Louisiana 51 $126 9 30 clock hours 14 clock hours 6 0 21
27 Kentucky 51 $135 4 25 clock hours 6 0 21
28 Connecticut 51 $141 2 10 clock hours 6 0 21
29 Colorado 51 $132 0 6 0 21
30 Illinois 51 $114 0 6 0 21
31 Vermont 51 $231 0 6 0 18
32 Maryland 51 $90 3 6 clock hours 9 clock hours 6 0 21
33 Tennessee 51 $59 0 6 0 21
34 New York 51 $50 0 2 clock hours 6 0 21
35 Arkansas 51 $92 4 24 clock hours 6 0 19
36 South Dakota 51 $145 0 6 0 18
37 Wisconsin 51 $129 0 6 0 18
38 California 51 $99 7 20 clock hours 20 clock hours 6 0 18
39 Texas 51 $84 3 20 clock hours 6 0 18
40 Wyoming 51 $85 0 6 0 18
41 Missouri 51 $80 1 8 clock hours 6 0 18
42 Mississippi 51 $77 1 8 clock hours 6 0 18
43 Iowa 51 $72 3 15 clock hours 6 0 18
44 Michigan 51 $70 3 18 clock hours 6 0 18
45 Oklahoma 51 $57 4 19 clock hours 5 clock hours 6 0 18
46 Virginia 51 $33 8 24 clock hours 24 clock hours 6 0 18
47 Pennsylvania 51 $35 3 14 clock hours 6 clock hours 6 0 18
48 North Dakota 51 $41 0 6 0 18
49 New Mexico 51 $18 8 36 clock hours 6 0 18
50 Minnesota 51 $39 0 6 0 18
51 Nebraska 51 $34 2 11 clock hours 6 0 18

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!