Skin Care Specialist

License required by 50 states

56th most burdensome licensing requirements.

9th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Skin care specialists, also known as estheticians, aestheticians, spa technicians and facialists, among other titles, provide skin care treatments to face and body to enhance an individual’s appearance.

Forty-nine states and D.C. license skin care specialists; Connecticut is the only state that does not. On average, these laws require $175 in fees, 145 days of education and two exams—the 56th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because almost all states license the occupation, it ranks as the ninth most widely and onerously licensed.

License requirements are somewhat uniform: 37 states require about 140 to 175 days (600 to 750 hours) of education, 36 require two exams, 38 require a minimum grade level, and 40 require a minimum age of between 16 and 18 years. However, there are some outliers. For example, four states require about 233 days (1,000 hours) of education, while Florida requires only about 61 (260 hours). Similarly, seven states require three exams, but Florida requires none. Fees also vary greatly, from $51 in Ohio to $450 in Alaska.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Kentucky 50 $200 233 1000 clock hours 2 12 18
2 Kansas 50 $195 233 1000 clock hours 2 12 17
3 Alabama 50 $235 233 1000 clock hours 2 10 16
4 Georgia 50 $139 233 1000 clock hours 2 12 17
5 Nevada 50 $145 210 900 clock hours 2 10 18
6 Texas 50 $176 175 750 clock hours 2 12 17
7 Missouri 50 $150 175 750 clock hours 2 10 17
8 Louisiana 50 $100 175 750 clock hours 2 10 16
9 Illinois 50 $186 175 750 clock hours 1 12 16
10 Washington 50 $210 175 750 clock hours 2 0 17
11 Tennessee 50 $190 175 750 clock hours 2 0 16
12 Indiana 50 $92 163 700 clock hours 1 10 18
13 Montana 50 $254 152 650 clock hours 2 12 18
14 Vermont 50 $360 140 600 clock hours 3 12 18
15 New Mexico 50 $253 140 600 clock hours 3 10 17
16 West Virginia 50 $159 140 600 clock hours 3 12 18
17 Mississippi 50 $233 140 600 clock hours 2 12 18
18 South Dakota 50 $80 140 600 clock hours 3 12 18
19 Minnesota 50 $285 140 600 clock hours 3 12 0
20 Delaware 50 $263 140 600 clock hours 2 10 16
21 Arizona 50 $247 140 600 clock hours 2 10 16
22 D C 50 $230 140 600 clock hours 2 10 17
23 North Dakota 50 $205 140 600 clock hours 3 12 0
24 Idaho 50 $186 140 600 clock hours 2 10 17
25 New Jersey 50 $119 140 600 clock hours 2 12 17
26 Maine 50 $148 140 600 clock hours 2 10 17
27 California 50 $115 140 600 clock hours 2 10 17
28 Arkansas 50 $125 140 600 clock hours 2 10 16
29 Rhode Island 50 $100 140 600 clock hours 2 10 18
30 Wyoming 50 $123 140 600 clock hours 2 10 16
31 Maryland 50 $104 140 600 clock hours 2 9 17
32 New Hampshire 50 $198 140 600 clock hours 2 12 0
33 Ohio 50 $51 140 600 clock hours 2 10 16
34 Hawaii 50 $110 140 600 clock hours 1 12 16
35 Oklahoma 50 $60 140 600 clock hours 2 8 16
36 Nebraska 50 $78 140 600 clock hours 1 12 17
37 Colorado 50 $177 140 600 clock hours 2 0 16
38 Iowa 50 $118 140 600 clock hours 1 12 0
39 New York 50 $70 140 600 clock hours 2 0 17
40 Utah 50 $234 140 600 clock hours 2 0 0
41 Virginia 50 $175 140 600 clock hours 2 0 0
42 North Carolina 50 $168 140 600 clock hours 2 0 0
43 Oregon 50 $115 117 500 clock hours 3 0 0
44 South Carolina 50 $175 105 450 clock hours 2 10 16
45 Wisconsin 50 $391 105 450 clock hours 2 0 18
46 Michigan 50 $200 93 400 clock hours 2 9 17
47 Alaska 50 $450 82 350 clock hours 2 0 0
48 Pennsylvania 50 $110 70 300 clock hours 1 10 16
49 Massachusetts 50 $188 70 300 clock hours 2 0 0
50 Florida 50 $70 61 260 clock hours 0 0 16

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!