Travel Agency

License required by 7 states

94th most burdensome licensing requirements.

86th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Travel agencies plan and sell transportation and accommodations to customers. They determine destination, modes of transportation, travel dates, costs and accommodations required. This report looks at what is required to run one’s own travel agency only.

Seven states license travel agencies that do business within their borders. All states require a fee, ranging from $15 in Iowa to $375 in California, for an average of $211. California’s fees are relatively high because the state requires agencies to pay into a consumer restitution fund. Pennsylvania also sets a minimum age of 18 years. These requirements are the 94th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. Because so few states license travel agencies, the occupation ranks as the 86th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Pennsylvania 7 $350 0 0 0 18
2 California 7 $375 0 0 0 0
3 Florida 7 $300 0 0 0 0
4 Washington 7 $202 0 0 0 0
5 Nevada 7 $125 0 0 0 0
6 Hawaii 7 $110 0 0 0 0
7 Iowa 7 $15 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!