Truck Driver, Tractor-Trailer

License required by 51 states

64th most burdensome licensing requirements.

11th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Tractor-trailer drivers drive vehicles including semis, tankers or trucks with a towing vehicle attachment weighing more than 10,000 pounds to transport and deliver goods, livestock or materials in liquid, loose or packaged form. They may be required to unload trucks.1

All 50 states and D.C. license tractor-trailer drivers. Rhode Island and West Virginia require two years (730 days) of driving experience, while seven other states require one year. Washington requires 160 hours (about 37 days) of commercial driving education. The other 41 states require no education or experience. Every state requires at least four exams and sets an age minimum, usually of 18 years, though a few states set theirs higher or lower.2 Fees range from $18 in New Mexico to $325 in Washington.

Tractor-trailer driver ranks as the 64th most burdensome occupations. And because it is licensed by every state and D.C., it ranks as the 11th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Rhode Island 51 $170 730 2 years 5 0 18
2 West Virginia 51 $142 730 2 years 5 0 18
3 Oregon 51 $156 365 1 years 5 0 18
4 Indiana 51 $153 365 1 years 5 0 18
5 Idaho 51 $145 365 1 years 5 0 18
6 Alaska 51 $140 365 1 years 5 0 18
7 Utah 51 $100 365 1 years 5 0 18
8 Arizona 51 $50 365 1 years 5 0 18
9 Delaware 51 $30 365 1 years 5 0 18
10 Washington 51 $325 37 160 clock hours 5 0 18
11 D C 51 $225 0 5 0 21
12 New Hampshire 51 $80 0 6 0 18
13 Hawaii 51 $155 0 5 0 21
14 New York 51 $50 0 5 0 21
15 Colorado 51 $257 0 5 0 18
16 Nevada 51 $235 0 5 0 18
17 Vermont 51 $171 0 5 0 18
18 Tennessee 51 $84 0 5 0 19
19 North Carolina 51 $160 0 5 0 18
20 Oklahoma 51 $153 0 5 0 18
21 Massachusetts 51 $140 0 5 0 18
22 Connecticut 51 $131 0 5 0 18
23 Kentucky 51 $125 0 5 0 18
24 Wisconsin 51 $124 0 5 0 18
25 South Dakota 51 $123 0 5 0 18
26 Ohio 51 $119 0 5 0 18
27 Louisiana 51 $116 0 5 0 18
28 Georgia 51 $115 0 5 0 18
29 Alabama 51 $111 0 5 0 18
30 Illinois 51 $110 0 5 0 18
31 Arkansas 51 $92 0 5 0 18
32 Maryland 51 $90 0 5 0 18
33 Texas 51 $85 0 5 0 18
33 Wyoming 51 $85 0 5 0 18
35 Missouri 51 $80 0 5 0 18
36 Florida 51 $75 0 5 0 18
37 California 51 $73 0 5 0 18
38 Michigan 51 $60 0 5 0 18
39 Kansas 51 $57 0 5 0 18
40 Iowa 51 $52 0 5 0 18
41 South Carolina 51 $34 0 5 0 18
42 Pennsylvania 51 $30 0 5 0 18
43 Virginia 51 $27 0 5 0 18
44 Montana 51 $26 0 5 0 18
44 Nebraska 51 $26 0 5 0 18
46 North Dakota 51 $25 0 5 0 18
47 Minnesota 51 $24 0 5 0 18
48 New Mexico 51 $18 0 5 0 18
49 Mississippi 51 $85 0 5 0 17
50 Maine 51 $69 0 5 0 16
51 New Jersey 51 $167 0 4 0 18

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!