Upholsterer

License required by 10 states

99th most burdensome licensing requirements.

80th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Upholsterers make, repair or replace upholstery for household furniture or transportation vehicles. This report looks at what is required to run one’s own upholstery business only.

Ten states require upholsterers to obtain a license to work. The only requirement is payment of a fee, which ranges from $10 in West Virginia to $360 in California. On average, states charge $102—the 99th most burdensome requirements. However, because 10 states license upholsterers, upholsterer ranks as the 80th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 California 10 $360 0 0 0 0
2 Rhode Island 10 $180 0 0 0 0
3 New York 10 $150 0 0 0 0
4 Connecticut 10 $75 0 0 0 0
5 Utah 10 $65 0 0 0 0
6 Maryland 10 $50 0 0 0 0
6 Ohio 10 $50 0 0 0 0
6 Pennsylvania 10 $50 0 0 0 0
9 Virginia 10 $25 0 0 0 0
10 West Virginia 10 $10 0 0 0 0

JOIN THE FIGHT!   Sign up for newsletters:

JOIN THE FIGHT!