Florida requires CONs within three broad categories—beds outside hospitals, facilities and services. In 2019, Florida passed sweeping CON law reforms and eliminated many of its CON requirements. Post-reform, Florida maintains 11 CON requirements. The minimum CON application fee in Florida is $10,000—the highest minimum standard application fee in the country.
As of May 15, 2020, Florida had not suspended any CON requirements in response to COVID-19.
In Florida, the CON application process takes at least 60 days after an application is deemed complete, although the process often takes much longer. Fla. Stat. § 408.039(4)(b); Fla. Admin Code r. 59C-1.010. Applications can be submitted biannually. The fee for an application ranges from $10,000 to $50,000. Fla. Stat. §§ 408.038, -.039; Fla. Admin Code r. 59C-1.008(3). Competitors can intervene in the application process and can offer evidence or argument as to why an application should be denied. Fla. Stat. § 408.039(5)(c), (6).
|CON?||Number of CONs||Moratoria||Temporary COVID-19 response:|
|Beds Outside Hospitals||Yes||2||-||No action|
|Facilities/ Buildings||Yes||5||-||No action|
|Emergency Medical Transport||No||-||-||-|