Iron/Steel Contractor (Commercial)

Iron and steel contractors contract with clients to raise, place and unite iron or steel girders, columns and other structural members to form completed structures or structural frameworks. They may also erect metal storage tanks and assemble prefabricated metal buildings. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the steel fabricators or welders who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 26 states
23rd most burdensome licensing requirements
53rd most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Twenty-six states license iron and steel contractors working on commercial properties. Eleven states require between two and five years of experience working under a licensed contractor. Alabama and Mississippi require completion of three contracted jobs. Thirteen states require no experience. On average, states require 525 days of education and experience, $368 in fees ($1,078 in Nevada), and about one exam. These high barriers give commercial iron/steel contractors the 23rd most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Arkansas 26 $180.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 0
2 Nevada 26 $1,078.25 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
3 Arizona 26 $886.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
4 California 26 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
5 Hawaii 26 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
6 Oregon 26 $385.00 1,463 16 clock hours 4 years 1 0 18
7 Florida 26 $364.00 1,460 - 4 years 1 0 18
8 New Mexico 26 $317.76 730 - 2 years 2 0 18
9 Virginia 26 $320.00 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
10 Utah 26 $354.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
11 South Carolina 26 $310.00 730 - 2 years 2 0 0
12 Mississippi 26 $640.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
13 Alabama 26 $492.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
14 Louisiana 26 $460.00 0 - - 2 0 0
15 Rhode Island 26 $200.00 1 5 clock hours - 0 0 18
16 West Virginia 26 $174.00 0 - - 2 0 0
17 D C 26 $654.50 0 - - 0 0 0
18 North Dakota 26 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
19 Tennessee 26 $305.00 0 - - 1 0 0
20 Connecticut 26 $500.00 0 - - 0 0 0
21 North Carolina 26 $145.00 0 - - 1 0 0
22 Alaska 26 $300.00 0 - - 0 0 0
23 Washington 26 $113.40 0 - - 0 0 0
24 Iowa 26 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
25 Idaho 26 $30.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Nebraska 26 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0