Mason Contractor (Commercial)

Mason contractors contract with clients to lay and bind building materials, such as brick, structural tile, concrete block, cinder block, glass block and terra-cotta block, with mortar and other substances to construct or repair walls, partitions, arches, sewers and other structures. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the masons who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 26 states
24th most burdensome licensing requirements
54th most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Twenty-six states license mason contractors working on commercial properties. Eleven states require between two and five years of experience working under a licensed contractor. Alabama and Mississippi require completion of three contracted jobs. Thirteen states require no experience. On average, states require 525 days of education and experience, $372 in fees ($1,078 in Nevada), and one exam. These high barriers give commercial mason contractors the 24th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Arkansas 26 $180.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 0
2 Nevada 26 $1,078.25 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
3 Arizona 26 $956.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
4 California 26 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
5 Hawaii 26 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
6 Oregon 26 $385.00 1,463 16 clock hours 4 years 1 0 18
7 Florida 26 $364.00 1,460 - 4 years 1 0 18
8 New Mexico 26 $317.76 730 - 2 years 2 0 18
9 Virginia 26 $320.00 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
10 Utah 26 $549.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
11 South Carolina 26 $250.00 730 - 2 years 1 0 0
12 Alabama 26 $492.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
13 Mississippi 26 $520.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 1 0 0
14 Louisiana 26 $460.00 0 - - 2 0 0
15 West Virginia 26 $174.00 0 - - 2 0 0
16 Rhode Island 26 $200.00 1 5 clock hours - 0 0 18
17 North Dakota 26 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
18 D C 26 $654.50 0 - - 0 0 0
19 Tennessee 26 $305.00 0 - - 1 0 0
20 Connecticut 26 $500.00 0 - - 0 0 0
21 North Carolina 26 $145.00 0 - - 1 0 0
22 Alaska 26 $300.00 0 - - 0 0 0
23 Washington 26 $113.40 0 - - 0 0 0
24 Iowa 26 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
25 Idaho 26 $30.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Nebraska 26 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0