Sheet Metal Contractor, HVAC (Commercial)

HVAC sheet metal contractors contract with clients to install prefabricated sheet metal ducts used for heating, air conditioning or other purposes. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not sheet metal workers who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 37 states
5th most burdensome licensing requirements
16th most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Thirty-seven states license HVAC sheet metal contractors working on commercial properties. Twenty-eight states require between two and six years of experience working under a licensed contractor. Mississippi requires completion of three contracted jobs. Seven states require no education or experience. On average, states require over three years (1,215 days) of education and experience, $394 in fees ($1,078 in Nevada), and about two exams. These high barriers give commercial HVAC sheet metal contractors the fifth most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Iowa 37 $890.00 2,190 - 6 years 2 12 18
2 Idaho 37 $395.00 2,190 - 6 years 2 0 18
3 Connecticut 37 $465.00 2,190 - 6 years 3 0 0
4 Maryland 37 $165.00 2,190 - 6 years 2 0 0
5 Massachusetts 37 $370.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 12 17
6 Delaware 37 $109.00 2,190 - 6 years 1 0 0
7 Virginia 37 $720.00 1,826 8 clock hours 5 years 2 0 18
8 Rhode Island 37 $558.00 1,825 - 5 years 2 0 18
9 Arkansas 37 $380.00 1,825 - 5 years 2 0 18
10 New Jersey 37 $331.00 1,825 - 5 years 2 0 18
11 Georgia 37 $297.00 1,829 24 clock hours 5 years 1 0 18
12 Ohio 37 $140.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 18
13 D C 37 $45.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 0
14 Nevada 37 $1,078.25 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
15 New Mexico 37 $530.52 1,460 - 4 years 4 0 18
16 California 37 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
17 Kentucky 37 $505.83 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
18 Hawaii 37 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
18 Oklahoma 37 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
20 Florida 37 $364.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
21 Oregon 37 $385.00 1,463 16 clock hours 4 years 1 0 18
22 Texas 37 $209.00 1,460 - 4 years 1 0 18
23 Alaska 37 $450.00 1,460 - 4 years 1 0 0
24 Michigan 37 $400.00 1,095 - 3 years 1 0 0
25 Arizona 37 $686.00 730 - 2 years 2 0 18
26 Utah 37 $354.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
27 South Carolina 37 $310.00 730 - 2 years 2 0 0
28 North Carolina 37 $260.00 730 - 2 years 2 0 0
29 Alabama 37 $315.00 700 - 3000 clock hours 1 0 0
30 Mississippi 37 $640.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
31 Louisiana 37 $460.00 0 - - 2 0 0
32 Tennessee 37 $360.00 0 - - 2 0 0
33 West Virginia 37 $174.00 0 - - 2 0 0
34 North Dakota 37 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
35 Wisconsin 37 $175.00 0 - - 0 0 0
36 Washington 37 $113.40 0 - - 0 0 0
37 Nebraska 37 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0