Sheet Metal Contractor, Other (Commercial)

Non-HVAC sheet metal contractors contract with clients to fabricate, assemble, install and repair sheet metal products and equipment, such as kitchen equipment, drainpipes, gutters, cornices and flashings. Work may involve any of the following: setting up and operating fabricating machines to cut, bend and straighten sheet metal; shaping metal over anvils, blocks or forms using a hammer; operating soldering and welding equipment to join sheet metal parts; and inspecting, assembling and smoothing seams and joints of burred surfaces.[c]Adapted from https://www.onetonline.org/link/summary/47-2211.00 and Nev. Admin. Code § 624.300.[/c] Typically, only contractors require licenses, not sheet metal workers who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 26 states
21st most burdensome licensing requirements
50th most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Twenty-six states license non-HVAC sheet metal contractors working on commercial properties. Twelve states require between two and five years of experience working under a licensed contractor. Alabama and Mississippi require completion of three contracted jobs. Twelve states require no experience. On average, states require 567 days of education and experience, $360 in fees ($1,078 in Nevada), and one exam. These high barriers give commercial non-HVAC sheet metal contractors the 21st most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Massachusetts 26 $370.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 12 17
2 Arkansas 26 $180.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 0
3 Nevada 26 $1,078.25 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
4 California 26 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
5 Hawaii 26 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
6 Florida 26 $364.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
7 Oregon 26 $385.00 1,463 16 clock hours 4 years 1 0 18
8 Arizona 26 $906.00 730 - 2 years 1 0 18
9 Virginia 26 $320.00 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
10 New Mexico 26 $248.88 730 - 2 years 1 0 18
11 Utah 26 $354.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
12 South Carolina 26 $325.00 730 - 2 years 2 0 0
13 Mississippi 26 $640.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
14 Alabama 26 $492.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
15 Louisiana 26 $460.00 0 - - 1 0 0
16 Rhode Island 26 $200.00 1 5 clock hours - 0 0 18
17 D C 26 $654.50 0 - - 0 0 0
18 North Dakota 26 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
19 Tennessee 26 $305.00 0 - - 1 0 0
20 North Carolina 26 $145.00 0 - - 1 0 0
21 West Virginia 26 $132.00 0 - - 1 0 0
22 Alaska 26 $300.00 0 - - 0 0 0
23 Washington 26 $113.40 0 - - 0 0 0
24 Iowa 26 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
25 Idaho 26 $30.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Nebraska 26 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0