Only one state, Ohio, requires a license to work as a social and human service assistant. Ohio requires $50 in fees, an associate’s degree (two years, or 730 days of education) in social service technology and an exam. These requirements are the 17th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because only one state licenses social and human service assistants, the occupation ranks as the 98th most widely and onerously licensed.
Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law, along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.