Veterinary Technician

Veterinary technicians generally work in private clinical practices under the guidance of a licensed veterinarian. They may perform laboratory tests, such as a urinalysis, and help veterinarians conduct a variety of other diagnostic tests. They may also talk with animal owners about a pet’s condition or how to administer medication prescribed by a veterinarian.[c]Adapted from https://www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/veterinary-technologists-and-technicians.htm#tab-2[/c]
License required by 36 states
16th most burdensome licensing requirements
27th most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Thirty-six states require veterinary technicians to obtain licenses. On average, these laws require $380 in fees, two years (730 days) of education and experience, and around two exams—the 16th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because veterinary technicians are not licensed everywhere, the occupation ranks as the 27th most widely and onerously licensed.

License requirements are mostly uniform. Every state requires two years (730 days) of veterinary technician education (Washington also requires a four-hour HIV/AIDS course) and one or two exams. In addition, 32 states require fees of $330 to $477. However, there is some variability: Alaska and Washington require fees over $500, while Arizona and New York require fees under $200. Also, only Indiana, Louisiana and South Dakota require a high school diploma.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Washington 36 $580.00 731 2 years and 4 clock hours - 2 0 0
2 Indiana 36 $391.95 730 2 years - 2 12 18
3 Louisiana 36 $405.00 730 2 years - 2 12 0
4 South Dakota 36 $330.00 730 2 years - 2 12 0
5 Idaho 36 $477.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
6 Wisconsin 36 $475.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
7 Alabama 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
7 Mississippi 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
7 North Carolina 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
7 West Virginia 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
11 Maryland 36 $395.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
12 South Carolina 36 $360.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
13 Oklahoma 36 $440.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
14 New Mexico 36 $435.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
15 Nebraska 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 1 0 19
16 Nevada 36 $410.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
17 Alaska 36 $535.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
18 Georgia 36 $360.00 730 2 years - 1 0 18
19 Missouri 36 $360.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
20 California 36 $351.00 730 2 years - 1 0 18
21 Oregon 36 $345.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
22 Iowa 36 $335.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
23 Kansas 36 $330.00 730 2 years - 2 0 0
24 Arizona 36 $150.00 730 2 years - 2 0 18
25 Tennessee 36 $427.65 730 2 years - 1 0 0
26 Delaware 36 $397.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
27 Virginia 36 $375.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
28 Maine 36 $366.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
29 Illinois 36 $360.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
30 Michigan 36 $350.25 730 2 years - 1 0 0
31 Arkansas 36 $350.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
32 Pennsylvania 36 $345.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
33 Kentucky 36 $335.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
33 North Dakota 36 $335.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
33 Ohio 36 $335.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0
36 New York 36 $177.00 730 2 years - 1 0 0