License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
License required in 33 states
71st most burdensome licensing requirements
37th most heavily regulated occupation
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Child care workers attend to children at schools, businesses, private households and child care institutions and perform a variety of tasks, such as dressing, feeding, bathing and overseeing play.
Thirty-three states require a license or registration for child care workers in day-care centers. On average, these laws cost aspiring child care workers 37 days in education and training and $8 in fees. License requirements for entry-level child care workers vary across states.
New Jersey and New York have the most burdensome requirements, with one to two years lost to education. Most states require minimal training in CPR and basic care and a background check.