License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
License required in 24 states
47th most burdensome licensing requirements
44th most heavily regulated occupation
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Coaches and directors of athletics instruct or coach groups or individuals in the fundamentals of sports, demonstrate techniques and methods of participation and may evaluate athletes' strengths and weaknesses as possible recruits or to improve the athletes' technique to prepare them for competition.
Twenty-three states and the District of Columbia require a license to coach high school sports; D.C., New Jersey, Oklahoma and Texas require that coaches be licensed teachers, thus requiring four years or more of training. Tennessee requires only that coaches of some sports be licensed teachers. On average, licensing laws for coaches require 254 days in education and training and $54 in fees. South Carolina requires that the coach work at least half time at the school, and Rhode Island requires only a $25 fee.