fbpx

Dental Assistant

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Highlights

License required in 7 states
76th most burdensome licensing requirements
82nd most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Dental assistants, also known as orthodontic assistants, assist dentists, set up patients and equipment and keep records.

Summary

Seven states require a license or registration to work as a dental assistant. On average, these laws cost aspiring dental assistants 55 days in education and training and $50 in fees. License requirements for dental assistants vary across states. Iowa has the most burdensome requirements, with one year lost to education and training, three exams and $86 in fees. The other states that license dental assistants have modest or, as in the case of Vermont, no education requirements.

(Last updated April 30, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Iowa 86 370 3 12 17
2 Minnesota 40 2 2 0 0
3 California 75 6 0 0 0
4 Vermont 110 0 0 0 0
5 Washington 40 1 0 0 0
6 Tennessee 0 2 0 0 0
6 Utah 0 2 0 0 0

Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.

JOIN THE FIGHT!