fbpx

Funeral Attendant

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing

Highlights

License required in 9 states
79th most burdensome licensing requirements
75th most heavily regulated occupation

(Last updated April 24, 2012)

Definition

Funeral attendants or funeral home assistants perform a variety of tasks during a funeral, such as placing the casket in the parlor or chapel prior to service; arranging floral offerings or lights around the casket; directing or escorting mourners; closing the casket; and issuing and storing funeral equipment.

Summary

Nine states require a license to work as a funeral attendant. On average, these laws cost funeral attendants two days in education and $167 in fees. Funeral attendant ranks as the 75th most widely and onerously licensed occupation. Requirements vary from $305 in fees and 11 days of education in Florida to $71 in fees in Maine.

(Last updated April 30, 2012)

State Licensing Requirements

Burden RankStateFeesEducation/Experience (Days)ExamsMinimum GradeMinimum Age
1 Florida 305 11 0 12 18
2 New Mexico 300 1 1 12 0
3 Montana 200 0 0 12 18
4 West Virginia 145 1 0 0 0
5 Vermont 50 1 0 0 0
6 California 100 0 0 0 18
7 Arizona 194 0 0 0 0
8 Arkansas 135 0 0 0 0
9 Maine 71 0 0 0 0

Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.

JOIN THE FIGHT!