License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
License required in 24 states
87th most burdensome licensing requirements
47th most heavily regulated occupation
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Gaming dealers or card dealers operate table games; stand or sit behind a table and operate games of chance by dispensing the appropriate number of cards or blocks to players or operating other gaming equipment; and compare the house's hand against players' hands and pay off or collect players' money or chips.
Twenty-four states require a license to work as a gaming dealer. The requirement is generally a fee, which averages $167, and may also include a minimum age of 18 or 21. Fees range from $40 in New Hampshire to $350 in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Many states also require information such as a personal history statement, a background check and personal references. Gaming dealers are the 47th most widely and onerously licensed occupation of the 102 studied.
(Last updated April 30, 2012)
State Licensing Requirements
Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.