License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
License required in 39 states
41st most burdensome licensing requirements
16th most heavily regulated occupation
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Mobile home installers move or install mobile homes or prefabricated buildings.
Thirty-nine states require mobile home installers to obtain licenses -- making the occupation the 16th most widely and onerously licensed of
the 102 studied. All but six of the 39 states require would-be installers to pass an exam. States levy an average fee of $337, led by Arkansas, which demands $2,750. California requires aspiring installers to acquire four years of experience; 15 states require six months to two years of education or training; 23 states require three days or fewer.
(Last updated May 1, 2012)
State Licensing Requirements
Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.