License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
License required in 5 states
80th most burdensome licensing requirements
87th most heavily regulated occupation
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Shampooers shampoo and rinse customers' hair.
Five states require shampooers to obtain a license to do their job. It ranks as the 87th most widely and onerously licensed occupation studied. Requirements vary widely by state. The most stringent state, Tennessee, requires 70 days of training, a $140 fee, two exams and a minimum age of 16. On the other end of the spectrum, Alabama merely requires shampooers to pay a $40 fee and be at least 16.
(Last updated May 2, 2012)
State Licensing Requirements
Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.