License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
28 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
33rd most burdensome licensing laws
50th most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Colorado has the second least restrictive occupational licensing regime for lower-income occupations in the nation. It licenses only 28 of the 102 low- and moderate-income occupations studied. Entrants into those occupations, however, face the 33rd most burdensome requirements. On average, workers wishing to enter these occupations must pay $195 in fees, pass one exam and lose 227 days to training requirements.
Some of Colorado's laws do not line up with health and safety concerns. For instance, cosmetologists must obtain more than a year's worth of education and experience before receiving a license. The state requires less than a month before workers can be emergency medical technicians.
Despite the good rankings, Colorado could do more to remove barriers to honest work. For instance, Colorado is one of only four states to license psychiatric technicians and one of only 10 to license landscape contractors.