License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
47 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
36th most burdensome licensing laws
23rd most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Idaho licenses 47 of the occupations studied and has the 36th most burdensome licensing laws. On average, those seeking jobs in these occupations must pay $122 in fees, lose 240 days to training mandates and must pass one exam.
Idaho's licensing rules present a heavy burden to people seeking to enter specific occupations. For instance, fire alarm and security alarm installers are required to obtain four years of education and experience before receiving a license. The national average for these occupations is 486 days and 535 days, respectively. Idaho is one of only eight states to require that truck drivers and city/transit bus drivers possess a driver's license for a year (or more) prior to licensure. It is also one of 20 states with a similar requirement for school bus drivers. Other states require only tests, fees, a minimum age and in some states a short course or training session for these occupations.
Idaho forces would-be barbers to obtain 630 days training, would-be cosmetologists to obtain 467 days training and would-be HVAC contractors to obtain 1,494 days training. National average education and experience requirements for these occupations are 416 days, 372 days and 891 days, respectively.
Idaho is also one of only two states to license log scalers, who grade or estimate the value of logs, and they must pass two exams. Idaho is one of only nine states to license farm labor contractors, who must pay a hefty $250 fee to the state.
Easing or eliminating barriers such as these could improve employment prospects in Idaho.