License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
34 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
44th most burdensome licensing laws
46th most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Kansas licenses 34 low- and moderate-income occupations and has the 44th most burdensome licensing laws. On average, Kansas requires job seekers in these occupations to pay $88 in fees, obtain 166 days of education and experience and pass one exam. The relatively light burdens and few occupations licensed combine to make Kansas the 46th most broadly and onerously licensed state.
For the commercial/general contractor licenses, Kansas is the only state to require just registration. However, there are several occupations where Kansas imposes onerous burdens compared to other states. Kansas is one of only four states to license psychiatric technicians, who must obtain 210 days of education and experience. Animal breeders must pay a highest-in-the-nation fee of $405. Skin care specialists lose 233 days to training requirements compared to a national average of 149 days in that occupation.
Overly onerous requirements like these could be targets for reform. Kansas policy makers should also examine occupations with requirements that are out-of-line with health and safety concerns. For example, an emergency medical technician will spend 35 days training to earn a license in Kansas. Manicurists need more than twice that much training, 82 days, and barbers and cosmetologists need even more, 350 days.