License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
53 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
34th most burdensome licensing laws
13th most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Tennessee is the 13th most broadly and onerously licensed state, placing it in the second tier of states. It licenses 53 of the 102 low- to moderate-income occupations studied, more than 41 states. At an average cost of $218 in fees, 222 days -- more than seven months -- lost to education and one exam, Tennessee has the 34th most burdensome licensing laws.
In several occupations, Tennessee charges around twice as much in fees as the average state. For example, auctioneers pay $650, but the national average is $307, and coaches are charged $285, while the average in other states is $54.
Tennessee also has a number of excessive training requirements compared to the average state. For example, pest control applicators and vegetation pesticide handlers must have four years of education, while 32 and 39 states, respectively, find no need for any requirement. Auctioneers lose two years to training, and Tennessee is one of only five states that even require a year or more of training. Aspiring manicurists lose 140 days to training, while the national average is 87 days.
Tennessee is also one of only five states to license shampooers, and it has the most burdensome requirements of 70 days lost to training, $140 in fees and two exams just to wash somebody's hair. Tennessee can help its low- to moderate-income workers flourish by reducing or completely eliminating such onerous or needless licensing barriers.