License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
27 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
9th most burdensome licensing laws
44th most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Vermont is the 44th most broadly and onerously licensed state. This ranking is primarily because Vermont licenses only 27 of the 102 low- to moderate-income occupations studied. On average, it requires these aspiring practitioners to pay $174 in fees, lose 402 days to education and experience and take two exams. These requirements make for the ninth most burdensome licensing laws.
The most burdensome requirements are for fire and security alarm installers. These aspiring workers lose nearly five-and-a-half years to experience while the average across the 34 states that license these occupations is less than a year and a half. Aspiring cosmetologists across the country pay average fees of $142, but Vermont charges $235 in fees. As one of only seven states that license entry-level dental assistants, Vermont charges the highest fees of $110; the average in other states is $50.