fbpx

Packer

License required by 6 states

102nd most burdensome licensing requirements.

88th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Packers pack or package by hand a wide variety of products and materials. This report looks at what is required to run one’s own packing or packaging business only.

Six states require packers to obtain licenses. Each requires only payment of a fee, ranging from $20 in Kentucky to $50 in Maine—$33 on average. These requirements make packer the least burdensome of the 102 occupations studied. However, because a few states license packers, the occupation ranks as the 88th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Maine 6 $50 0 0 0 0
2 Minnesota 6 $40 0 0 0 0
3 Oklahoma 6 $35 0 0 0 0
4 Maryland 6 $30 0 0 0 0
5 New Mexico 6 $25 0 0 0 0
6 Kentucky 6 $20 0 0 0 0

Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.

JOIN THE FIGHT!