fbpx

Psychiatric Aide

License required by 1 states

14th most burdensome licensing requirements.

97th most widely and onerously licensed occupation.

Psychiatric aides assist mentally impaired or emotionally disturbed patients and work under the direction of nursing and medical staff.

Only one state, Missouri, requires a license to work as a psychiatric aide. Missouri requires two years (730 days) of experience in mental health, a high school diploma and a minimum age of 18 years. These requirements rank as the 14th most burdensome of the 102 occupations studied here. However, because only one state licenses psychiatric aides, the occupation ranks as the 97th most widely and onerously licensed.

States With Licenses

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Missouri 1 $0 730 2 years 0 12 18

Sign up to receive IJ's biweekly digital magazine, Liberty & Law along with breaking updates about our fight to protect the rights of all Americans.

JOIN THE FIGHT!