Eyelash Technician Hours in Minnesota
Reduce Eyelash Technician Training to 14 Hours
December 19, 2022
Saint Paul, MN
In 2016, Minnesota’s legislature enacted an occupational license requiring 14 hours of training. A year later, the Board of Cosmetology broke the law. The Board promulgated rules in 2017 that require 38 hours of training.
In 2022, the legislators who authored the bill petitioned the Office of Administrative Hearings to change the Board’s rule and lower the training requirement to 14 hours—the hours required in state law. IJ supported the legislators’ petition as a first step toward repealing the license in the future.
An Administrative Law Judge accepted the legislators’ recommendation. The new rule setting the requirement at 14 hours went into effective on September 12, 2023.