Cement Finishing Contractor (Residential)

Cement finishing contractors, also known as concrete mason contractors, contract with clients to smooth and finish surfaces of poured concrete, such as floors, walks, sidewalks, roads or curbs, using a variety of hand and power tools; align forms for sidewalks, curbs or gutters; patch voids; and use saws to cut expansion joints. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the cement finishers who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 30 states
51st most burdensome licensing requirements
42nd most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Thirty states license cement finishing contractors working on residential properties. On average, states require 307 days of education and experience, $300 in fees, and about one exam. All in all, 15 states require at least one exam (California requires three). These requirements rank as the 51st most burdensome.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Nevada 30 $938.25 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
2 Arizona 30 $826.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
3 California 30 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
4 Hawaii 30 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
5 New Mexico 30 $317.76 730 - 2 years 2 0 18
6 Maryland 30 $433.00 730 - 2 years 1 0 18
7 Utah 30 $549.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
8 Virginia 30 $320.00 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
9 South Carolina 30 $50.00 365 - 1 years 0 0 0
10 Mississippi 30 $290.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
11 Michigan 30 $286.00 14 60 clock hours - 2 0 18
12 Oregon 30 $410.00 3 16 clock hours - 1 0 18
13 Louisiana 30 $460.00 0 - - 1 0 0
14 Rhode Island 30 $200.00 1 5 clock hours - 0 0 18
15 West Virginia 30 $174.00 0 - - 2 0 0
16 North Dakota 30 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
17 Tennessee 30 $305.00 0 - - 1 0 0
18 D C 30 $442.20 0 - - 0 0 0
19 North Carolina 30 $145.00 0 - - 1 0 0
20 Alabama 30 $350.00 0 - - 0 0 0
21 Alaska 30 $300.00 0 - - 0 0 0
22 Massachusetts 30 $250.00 0 - - 0 0 0
23 Connecticut 30 $220.00 0 - - 0 0 0
24 Washington 30 $113.00 0 - - 0 0 0
25 New Jersey 30 $110.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Arkansas 30 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Iowa 30 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
26 Pennsylvania 30 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
29 Idaho 30 $30.00 0 - - 0 0 0
30 Nebraska 30 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0