Drywall Installation Contractor (Commercial)

Drywall installation contractors, also known as hanger contractors, contract with clients to apply plasterboard or other wallboard to ceilings or interior walls of buildings and apply or mount acoustical tiles or blocks, strips or sheets of shock-absorbing materials to ceilings and walls of buildings to reduce or reflect sound. The materials may be of decorative quality. The category includes lathers who fasten wooden, metal or rockboard lath to walls, ceilings or partitions of buildings to provide a support base for plaster, fireproofing or acoustical material. Typically, only contractors require licenses, not the drywall installers who work for them. In some states, licensing requirements differ based on the setting. Those with a residential license may work only on residential properties, while those with a commercial license may work on commercial properties. Other states require the same license regardless of the setting, and this report records that license in both settings. Many states have contract minimums before the contractor’s license applies. See Appendix B for details.
License required by 25 states
25th most burdensome licensing requirements
58th most widely and onerously licensed occupation

Twenty-five states license drywall installation contractors working on commercial properties. Eleven states require between two and five years of experience working under a licensed contractor. Alabama and Mississippi require completion of three contracted jobs. Twelve states require no experience. On average, states require 517 days of education and experience, $365 in fees ($983 in Nevada), and one exam. These high barriers give commercial drywall installation contractors the 25th most burdensome requirements of the 102 occupations studied.

Burden Rank State States Licensed Fees Estimated Calendar Days Lost Education Experience Exams Minimum Grade Minimum Age
1 Arkansas 25 $180.00 1,825 - 5 years 1 0 0
2 California 25 $579.00 1,460 - 4 years 3 0 18
3 Nevada 25 $983.25 1,460 - 4 years 1 0 18
4 Hawaii 25 $615.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
5 Florida 25 $364.00 1,460 - 4 years 2 0 18
6 Oregon 25 $410.00 1,463 16 clock hours 4 years 1 0 18
7 Arizona 25 $906.00 730 - 2 years 1 0 18
8 New Mexico 25 $317.76 730 - 2 years 2 0 18
9 Utah 25 $549.00 733 20 clock hours 2 years 2 0 0
10 Virginia 25 $320.00 731 8 clock hours 2 years 1 0 18
11 South Carolina 25 $250.00 730 - 2 years 1 0 0
12 Mississippi 25 $640.00 67 - 3 jobs, contractors 2 0 0
13 Alabama 25 $492.00 67 - 3 Jobs, Contractors 2 0 0
14 Louisiana 25 $460.00 0 - - 2 0 0
15 Rhode Island 25 $200.00 1 5 clock hours - 0 0 18
16 D C 25 $654.50 0 - - 0 0 0
17 North Dakota 25 $125.00 0 - - 0 0 18
18 Tennessee 25 $305.00 0 - - 1 0 0
19 North Carolina 25 $145.00 0 - - 1 0 0
20 West Virginia 25 $132.00 0 - - 1 0 0
21 Alaska 25 $300.00 0 - - 0 0 0
22 Washington 25 $113.40 0 - - 0 0 0
23 Iowa 25 $50.00 0 - - 0 0 0
24 Idaho 25 $30.00 0 - - 0 0 0
25 Nebraska 25 $0.00 0 - - 0 0 0