License to Work: A National Study of Burdens from Occupational Licensing
39 out of 102 moderate-income occupations licensed
30th most burdensome licensing laws
33rd most extensively and onerously licensed state
(Last updated April 24, 2012)
Maine licenses 39 of the 102 low- and middle-income occupations studied. Residents seeking to enter these occupations can anticipate, on average, paying $206 in fees, losing 226 days to training requirements and taking one exam, making Maine's the 30th most burdensome licensing laws.
A few occupations face significantly more burdensome entry requirements in Maine than in other states. For example, log scalers, who grade or estimate the value of logs, face no employment restrictions in any state save Maine and Idaho; each requires two exams, and Maine requires two years of experience. Similarly, Maine is one of only three states to license dietetic technicians. Its requirements are also the most onerous, requiring applicants to obtain 835 days -- more than two years -- of education and experience prior to licensure.
Occupations like these, where other states appear to get by with no licensing or far lower burdens, are possible targets for reform. Other possibilities include occupations that appear overly burdensome to enter compared to others with a greater connection to health and safety. For instance, Maine makes it more difficult to become a makeup artist, skin care specialist or massage therapist than an emergency medical technician. EMTs need only 33 days of training compared to more than 100 for the other occupations.